

South Staffordshire College

Meetings of the Board of Governors

Minutes of the Virtual Meeting of the Board of Governors

PART 1

3 February 2022 9:30am to 9:45am

Mike Rowley (Chair) 'MR'; Tim Legge (Vice Chair) 'TL'; Claire Boliver (Chief Executive & Principal) 'CB'; Philip Atkins; Yvonne Bradshaw; Andrea **Governors present:**

Chilton; Andrew Elsby-Smith; Tony McGovern 'TmC'; Stephen Oliver; Jamie

Parsons; Helen Simpson; Gail Steptoe-Warren Nicola Truman; Rosie

Watchorn

David Isteed; Hannah Montgomery; Dipal Patel Apologies received:

In attendance: Mary Mellor (Clerk to the Corporation)

Board	Agenda Item	Actions
	Welcome and Apologies for Absence	
1.1	MR opened the meeting at 9:31am and welcomed the Governors	
1.2	Apologies were received from David Isteed, Hannah Montgomery and Dipal Patel which were accepted by the board.	
	Declarations of Interest	
2	As item 4 on the agenda was an item on Senior Post Holder Pay, the student and staff governors agreed to leave the meeting after item 3.	
	Board Membership	
3.1	MR explained that the Board had previously identified the requirement to improve the Board's skills in financial expertise. The Governance and Search Committee had interviewed a suitably skilled candidate. The Committee members had been pleased with the calibre and experience of the candidate they interviewed and recommended her appointment to the Board as an external governor which required an increase in the number of Board members from 17 to 18. Resolved:	
3.2	 That the number of governors be increased to 18 by the addition of one member in the external category. That Liz Furey be appointed as a governor in the external category for a term of 4 years commencing on 3rd February 2022. To appoint Liz Furey as a member of the Finance Improvement Group. 	
3.3	MR thanked all governors, and the staff and student governors left the meeting at 9:36am.	
	Senior Post Holder Remuneration	
4	This item is confidential and minuted elsewhere.	
5	Any other business There was no other business and the meeting closed at 9:45am. The next meeting is 30 March 2022 at 9am.	

30 March 2022 Date